Accumulator Series: The Wacky Accy

Week Two

‘If at first you don’t succeed try, try again…’

Unknown

The Wacky Accy

Firstly I must apologise for taking so long to put up this Week Two of the Accumulator series. Given the task before me I knew I was going to need an income coming in from elsewhere because there is a strong possibility my accumulators aren’t going to pay for themselves. Anyway, the following accumulator is the Wacky Accy from October 16th…it proved to be an interesting day.

Method

  1. Go into bookies
  2. Look at the Long List
  3. Choose a number of teams (The Wacky Accy is the exception to the rules previously set out. In order to add a “Wacky” element to an accumulator a lot more teams needed to be selected…I chose 17 games)
  4. Cross every finger and toe and pray to a number of deities.

Teams chosen

BOLTON to beat Stoke at home

FULHAM to draw with TOTTENHAM at home

CRYSTAL PALACE to draw with MILLWALL at home

HULL to beat Leicester away

QPR to beat Norwich at home

BOURNEMOUTH to beat MK Dons at home

CARLISLE to beat Exeter away

HUDDERSFIELD to beat Southampton at home

BRENTFORD to beat Tranmere away

ROTHERHAM to beat Accrington Stanley away

NORTHAMPTON to beat Hereford at home

PORT VALE to beat Gillingham at home

CHESTERFIELD to beat Wycombe away

AFC WIMBLEDON to beat Gateshead at home

ST MIRREN to draw with HAMILTON at home

PARTICK to beat Falkirk at home

ARBROATH to beat Clyde at home

Result

This week was the mother of all rollercoasters…it was the accumulator version of the Pepsi Max at Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Seemingly a minute did not go by without something happening that affected one of the games involved in my accumulator.

The graph below shows how my “Hope Mood” went over the course of 90 minutes during the Wacky Accy (Note: the hope mood started lower for the Wacky Accy, this was because of how the previous Accumulator and also the ridiculous nature of the task this week):

Within three minutes of the games kicking off I had realised a major mistake I’d made…I forgot the Sven factor! October 16th was Sven’s first game in charge of Leicester and it turned out that the man who’s accepted more job offers from rich businessmen than an unfussy “lady of the night” had quite a positive effect on the Foxes. With Hull being 1-0 down after three minutes my mood dropped 10 points and that sinking feeling came back.

By the twentieth minute I had three results going for me, two against me and the rest were all drawing, not all was lost; the Hope Mood was still above 80 points. Hope was really the only thing I could rely on for the Wacky Accy (this really should have been a sign to me that things could never end well).

Just before half time the best/worst thing happened; NORTHAMPTON WENT 3-0 UP. The third Northampton goal signalled that they had signed up to the dream, they were willing to reward my hope with goals and consequently they were going to lead the charge towards my 2.4 million pounds! With the boost in Hope Mood came my belief that Northampton would be the team that defined this accumulator and there was NO CHANCE they could mess up a 3-0 lead at home.

As a result of what was going on at Sixfields my hope mood was high at half time; I felt positive about ten of seventeen results. Four of the nine positive results were draws and because of the Northampton score I believed they were bound to end well. One thing I can tell you about accumulators is that you don’t want one of your teams to start doing overly well because it will hurt doubly as much when it all goes wrong.

And then the second half kicked off; within the first five minutes three of my teams began to lose. Things may have started to go wrong but I still had hope and I still had The Cobblers, things could always get better.

By the seventieth minute things had not got better though. Fulham were losing along with Palace, Rotherham, Carlisle, St Mirren AND Northampton had conceded 2 goals. Surely things could not get worse?!

Wait two minutes…

OH F**K! HOW THE HELL DO NORTHAMPTON THROW AWAY A 3-0 LEAD!

Wait six minutes…

BOTTOM OF THE LEAGUE HEREFORD TOWN HAVE SCORED AGAIN AGAINST NORTHAMPTON AND NOW IT’S 4-3!

Within those eight minutes things may have been going well with Bournemouth winning 3-1, AFC Wimbledon winning and St Mirren on for the draw but Northampton had abandoned me. With ten minutes to go I knew that all was lost.

Unfortunately the feeling that all was lost by the 80th minute was the only correct feeling I had all day.

BOLTON 2 STOKE 1

FULHAM 1 TOTTENHAM 2

CRYSTAL PALACE 0 MILLWALL 1

HULL 1 LEICESTER 1

QPR 0 NORWICH 0

BOURNEMOUTH 3 MK DONS 2

CARLISLE 1 EXETER 2

HUDDERSFIELD 2 SOUTHAMPTON 0

BRENTFORD 3 TRANMERE 0

ROTHERHAM 3 ACCRINGTON STANLEY 2

NORTHAMPTON 3 HEREFORD 4

PORT VALE 0 GILLINGHAM 0

CHESTERFIELD 2 WYCOMBE 1

AFC WIMBLEDON 1 GATESHEAD 0

ST MIRREN 2 HAMILTON 2

PARTICK 1 FALKIRK 1

ARBROATH 3 CLYDE 2

48 goals, 71 yellow cards, 7 red cards.

Having said that things did not go well, I still got 10 out of 17 correct. That is a marked improvement on the previous accumulator with me getting over half the results correct. This included getting every Scottish game correct!

Potential Improvements

Looking through the results a few things jump out at me:

  1. Wacky Accy’s are stupid.
  2. Bet on Scottish teams more.
  3. Northampton Town owe me 2.4 million quid.

Next Time:

The Christmas Special.


About danbunker

I watch too much sport.
This entry was posted in Betting Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

