The Accumulator Series: The Friendship Accumulator

Week Four

‘Keep your friends close, keep your enemies closer’

The Friendship Accumulator

For those of you who have been following my previous accumulators you’ll know that they have not gone so well so far. Given this, when I saw that the next accumulator I was going to put on was based on the teams my friends supported, I had a suspicion this wouldn’t end well. In this case when I talk about friends I mean each of the other members of OptajJke (with the exception of myself and Sam as we both support Arsenal and if you refer to Accumulator One you’ll see why).

I was facing a situation where at best what could happen would be I’d lose money…at worst I’d consider killing off each member of the OptaJoke team in a way that would make a very good Kill Bill 3.

Method

  1. Place a £3 bet on each of the OptaJoke member’s teams to (apart from two who were faced each other which meant I’d bet on the draw)
  2. Cross every finger, stay away from those friends and any sharp objects.

Teams chosen

CHELSEA to beat Blackburn at home (Gravelle’s team)

NOTTINGHAM FOREST to draw with PORTSMOUTH at home (Toppo and Besty’s teams)

LEICESTER to beat Preston away (Jim’s team)

WATFORD to beat Derby at home (DCW’s team)

SWINDON to beat Yeovil at home (Carl’s team)

BURY to beat Aldershot at home (Mark’s team)

I did think before the games got under way that this was the best chance I had of a winning accumulator.

Result

The best way to show the results of this accy is in the following video:

Here’s the Hope Mood graph for this week:

In the end I was undone a new manager at Preston and Aldershot, a sending off at Swindon and by Nottingham Forest’s ability to pull a win out of the bag in the dying minutes of a game.

CHELSEA 2 BLACKBURN 0

NOTTINGHAM FOREST 2 PORTSMOUTH 1

PRESTON 1 LEICESTER 1

WATFORD 3 DERBY 0

SWINDON 0 YEOVIL 1

BURY 1 ALDERSHOT 1

Just the 2 results right this week. Things are steadily getting worse.

Potential Improvements

Looking through the results a few things jump out at me:

  1. Don’t bet on teams whose opposition have just got a new manager.
  2. Fewer teams do give you greater hope.
  3. If you can choose your friends…make sure you support some who support better teams.

Next Time:

The Form Guide

About danbunker

I watch too much sport.
This entry was posted in Betting Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Accumulator Series: The Friendship Accumulator

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Accumulator Series: The Friendship Accumulator | OptaJoke -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

